ALAS 2016 Leaders in Education Awards Gala

Join us for the 2nd Annual Leaders in Education Awards Gala being held at the historic Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C., Monday, April 25, 2016. ALAS will host education professionals, Congressional representatives, and business leaders. The event will recognize and celebrate school district superintendents and administrators exemplifying best practices in public education, and ALAS will honor U.S. Secretary of Education John King. Don't miss this important event!




Latino Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Ricardo Lopez, Superintendent
Mission Consolidated Independent School District
Mission, Texas

Hispanic-Serving School District Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Patrick Sweeney, Superintendent
Napa Valley Unified School District
Napa, California

Latino Administrator of the Year
Victoria B. Saldala, Director, Bilingual/ESOL Department
Broward County Public Schools
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Hispanic-Serving School District Administrator of the Year
Dr. Gregory A. Ewing, Chief Officer Accountability & Research                                      
Cobb County School District
Marietta, Georgia


Dr. Samuel L. Ray, Superintendent
North Sanpete School District
Mt. Pleasant, Utah

Carlos M. Beato, Principal
International High School at Langley Park
Bladensburg, Maryland

Jennifer Mayer-Glenn, Assistant Principal         
Mountain View Elementary & Glendale Community Learning Center
Salt Lake City, Utah

Cynthia Mills, Principal
Porfirio H Gonzales School
Tolleson, Arizona

Dr. Alberto Rivera, Principal
William H. Hunter Elementary School
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Dr. Grant M. Rivera, Chief Leadership & Learning Office
Cobb County School District
Marietta, Georgia

Dr. Perla V. Rodriguez, Principal               
Echo Shaw Elementary School
Cornelius, Oregon

Sandra L. Jimenez, Principal
High Point High School
Beltsville, Maryland

Renato M. Lajara                                                                  
Kensington Urban and Business High School
Philadelphia, PA


Michael Casserly, Executive Director, Council of the Great City Schools

Jeannette Morales, Director for PK-12 Initiatives, Hispanic Association Of Colleges and Universities (HACU)

Mort Sherman, Associate Executive Director, AASA

Antonio Tijerino, President & CEO, Hispanic Heritage Foundation (HHF)

Gala Location and Schedule:

Mayflower Hotel
1127 Connecticut Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20036

6:00 p.m. Reception
7:00 p.m. Dinner