2017 ALAS National Legislative Assembly & 3rd Annual ALAS Awards Gala

The ALAS 2017 National Legislative Assembly and 3rd Annual Awards Gala was a tremendous success. Check out our awards winners below, and see more photos here!


Join us on Thursday, April 27, 2017 for the ALAS National Legislative Assembly and 3rd Annual Awards Gala. 

Leaders in education and policy from across the nation will gather to discuss innovative solutions to the challenges facing our school districts and the students they serve, driving a collective voice for ALAS. Legislative Assembly participants will also visit Capitol Hill to discuss with congressional representatives and key policy makers issues affecting their school districts and ALAS' efforts to bring a collective voice to national education issues.

During the evening, ALAS will hold its 3rd Annual Awards Gala. The evening begins with a networking cocktail reception at the historic Mexican Cultural Institute, followed by a plated dinner and awards ceremony, celebrating those making a unique, positive impact on our districts, schools and students. We hope you will join us on April 27, 2017. This is a black tie event.

Space is limited and YOU MUST RSVP HERE for both events.

For Sponsorship and Partner Opportunities CLICK HERE or contact Nlewin@alasedu.org.


Latino Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Michael Hinojosa, Superintendent
Dallas Independent School District
Dallas, Texas

Hispanic-Serving School District Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Barbara M. Jenkins, Superintendent
Orange County Public Schools 
Orlando, Florida

Latino Administrator of the Year
Gloria Trejo, Principal
Pioneer Elementary School
West Chicago Elementary District 33
West Chicago, Illinois

Hispanic-Serving School District Administrator of the Year
Dr. Terry T. Walker, Director, Educational Services
Upland Unified School District
Upland, California


Edward Xavier Barrios, Principal
Haywood Elementary
Nashville, Tennessee 

Rodolfo Hernandez, Superintendent
Cicero District 99
Cicero, Illinois

Dr. Charles W. Johns, Superintendent
West Chicago Elementary District 33
West Chicago, Illinois

Dr. Lazaro J. Lopez, Associate Superintendent
High School District 214
Arlington Heights, Illinois

Dr. Steven Martinez, Superintendent
Twin Rivers Unified 
McClellan, California

Dr. Alberto Vazquez Matos, Chief of Staff
Hillsborough County Public Schools 
Tampa, Florida

Dr. Cesar A. Morales, Superintendent
Oxnard School District
Oxnard, California

Dr. Juan Santos, Director, Student Support Services
Conejo Valley Unified School District
Thousand Oaks, California

### Note:

  • The Gala will be held at a different location than the Legislative Assembly.
  • The address for Mexican Cultural Institute is 2829 16th St. NW Washington, DC 20009.
  • You must have a ticket to attend the Legislative Assembly and/or the Awards Gala.
  • For groups of 3 or more, or if you have questions, contact operations@alasedu.org